Reviews!

Finally GMAT success!
October 8, 2020
    

I am so thankful to Dan for getting me through this nightmare exam. I’d worked with manhattan and other tutors and Dan’s approach was like night and day different. Case in point- I had already tried over 200 work/rate problems and was barely more accurate than if I just flipped a coin for each answer. One test prep company actually taught me to just guess on those. Dan rebuilt me from the ground up, gave me a remarkably consistent, systematic way to do each type of rate problem and after an hour of working together I was able to get almost every single one right. We worked through his whole curriculum like that and I’m happy to say I finally scored a 720! I beat my target score by 20 points! Dan was also super flexible, patient and pleasant to work with. I had almost given up on business school. Thanks Dan!!

November 23, 2019
    

I had a fantastic experience with Dan. I boosted my GMAT score 110 points in 2 months and I'm very happy with the number I submitted. I had struggled with quant performance on my first crack at the GMAT and knew that I needed some specialized help, something more hands-on and personalized than Manhattan Prep or the other big services. Dan helped me tremendously with the knowledge gaps in my quant and was flexible and easy to work with around my hectic work schedule. He's a good dude and I would recommend him to anyone.

December 1, 2019
    

Dan is a patient, encouraging, and realistic tutor who knows how to deliver results efficiently in a way that works for his students. I met with Dan for the first time less than 5 weeks before my GMAT test date. I had been scoring 640 on my practice exams, with a goal of cracking 700 by test day. Dan and I met twice a week for an hour until my exam; I was delighted to walk away with a 720. I would highly recommend Dan for anyone interested in seeing results quickly, especially those with inflexible study schedules; he could not be more accommodating, and is a total pleasure to work with!

January 17, 2020
    

Needed to go up 1 point in the GRE and after 3 sessions with Dan I went up 6 points!

January 17, 2020
    

I couldn't be happier that my son decided to work with Dan. After reading his glowing reviews, it was clear that Dan's approach was far more personalized and effective than other GMAT prep options. After just one session, my son told me it was clear Dan could help him get the score he needed for grad school. It wasn't just the curriculum; it was how he approached the learning process and broke down different question types to make them more manageable. After three months of working together, my son's score improved from 560 to 690! He couldn't have done it without Dan's help which is why we cannot recommend him highly enough!

Sean S
September 27, 2020

Dan is an incredible GMAT tutor! He doesn't just show you how to do problems that you don't understand. He has a detailed curriculum that he takes you through in 12 sessions. He also gives comprehensive homework problems for each topic that truly force you to comprehend the material. He shows you test taking tricks along with different ways to think about specific problems that make them much easier. He is also extremely flexible with his schedule. Dan shows you exactly where and how to focus your time preparing for the gmat. Worth every penny!

Anthony C
September 27, 2020

Dan the man — I have been working with Dan for 6 months but took 2 months off because of COVID. During the first 2 months, he cohesively walked me through a curriculum of the main math areas that were likely to arise on the GMAT and GRE such as rate, combinations / permutations, mixtures, statistics, geometry, word problems, among others. He took a hands on approach to teaching the concept at a high level and then applying it a wide variety of that problem type in order to ensure it sticks with you. For example, on group problems, he teaches a two way problem that allows you to solve even the toughest problems in under 1 minute. As a result, you find yourself recognizing exactly what the test is asking come exam day, and can quickly dissect / solve it in a time efficient fashion. This makes a huge difference under time constraints. For me, it was not just about getting the problem right. I could do that given enough time. But I did have a lot of trouble getting them right within the time limit. By the end of my studying with Dan, my Math score had risen by 13 points. More importantly, I was scoring consistently. On the actual GRE exam, I finished the math sections with 5-10 minutes remaining which gave me plenty of time to go back and check answers. That is something I never thought i would be able to do pre Dan. Dan also goes above and beyond. He would go through my error journal with me. He would help me diagnose my weak areas and we would do special sessions to addresses these areas. I could not more highly recommend Dan. If you want your dream score or are having trouble with timing, then you need Dan. He will show you the most efficient ways to tackle problems and over time you too will develop that pattern recognition. Thanks Dan!

Best GMAT tutor ever! Thank you!
October 4, 2020
    

After completing both the Manhattan and Veritas classes for both the GMAT and GRE respectively, I was still struggling to score above the 75th percentile overall and was close to settling for my score and whatever school would accept me. An admissions consultant gave me Dan's information. We spoke on the phone and he convinced me that my goals were attainable if I just had the right help.

I worked with him for 15 hours and he broke the concepts down like I hadn't seen before. He stared by testing me across a variety of topics and we found weak spots I never knew I had. In my previous studying efforts, I had been just another student in classes of 15 people or more and didn't have an opportunity for a one on one analysis of exactly what I did and did not understand. What a difference Dan made! I was actually a little embarrassed to realize that I had paid thousands of dollars for other courses and still hadn't been taught to, for example, break numbers down into prime factors for divisibility problems. We started by going through my weak areas: number properties, probability, etc., and then moved through his recommended course of study. Every hour we met was dense with material and there was so much information coming my way I had to rewatch out lessons multiple times to digest everything. We met via Zoom and I really benefited from seeing everything he writes on the screen as we work through a problem and then being able to rewatch it late. When he felt I was ready, I started working in practice tests and my scores jumped every time!

He taught me to study differently- to study for content mastery instead of just doing problems here and there. I would describe his method as not so much tutoring but an entirely personalized class designed for an individual. I'm so glad I found him. After 2 months of studying with him I finally scored 10 points above my original goal score and was accepted to 2 of my top 5 schools. I cannot recommend Dan and his method highly enough and I recommend reaching out to him before you pay for any course. Thank you so much Dan!

100 point GMAT improvement!
October 4, 2020
    

Dan is truly amazing at tutoring and if you are looking to improve your GMAT score you should definitely look no further. He has a thoughtful curriculum that matches the real GMAT accurately and is a pleasure to work with. But more important he truly makes what can be tedious math at times, very fun. I went from a 640 to a 740 with his shepherding. In addition, Dan guided me through the taking the GMAT in the post-March/COVID world which meant tests getting cancelled with little notice (I even had one of my online tests glitch). This made my efforts have to linger on and I had to stay sharp. Dan was there to help me every step of the way. He has a way of encouraging you while really challenging you. His approach proved very valuable for me on the real test as I had battled many more difficult questions and had tricks up my sleeve that Dan had equipped me with. He is terrific at explaining really hard and also was awesome at answering my questions and making sure I understood concepts before we moved on. He has a good gage for what’s crucial to know for the gmat. I would email questions all the time I wanted to review the next session and he always arrived prepared, ready to review them. And again, Dan really did make the whole thing fun somehow. Thank you Dan, I recommend, commend, and appreciate you!

I broke 700! Thanks Dan!
October 4, 2020
    

I was overjoyed after working with Dan on Quant for about 2 months. He really took my Quant skills to a new level that I didn't think was possible. Before Dan, Quant was my weakest point (Q36 was a personal best). That was after buying Manhattan prep self paced courses, all the books, OG books you name it. I thought he could maybe push me towards a 40. Fast forward two months, my personal best is Q46 (on a practice test) and now have a Q45 on my official score! He turned my weakest stuff into a strength. Best part is that my performance is now consistent. Every single practice test and real test, I perform around at the same level. I no longer have to worry about if I'm going to have a good day or not. Dan won't do the work for you of course. You put the time in and just follow what he says and you'll improve. THANK YOU DAN -700 (Q45, V41)

November 23, 2019
    

Dan is a very available tutor and helped me go from a 550 (Q27) on my first practice test to 690 (Q40) on my actual first GMAT. Dan was very flexible despite being across time zones, and was quick and to the point to make the most of our time. I feel comfortable tackling most kinds of questions and understanding the "why" behind quant problems. I'd recommend Dan for those who are very weak in quant and want to improve!

November 18, 2019
    

If you need to improve your GMAT score, he's your guy. I was struggling hard with the GMAT for a very long time, and I wasn't breaking 700. I got a 730 yesterday, and I can't be more happy. Like he says, he's really the only guy on here that focuses solely on the GMAT. I know I could not have done it without him. Just do what he tells you to do, and you'll get your target score. Trust me, he is worth it! I am so glad that I chose Dan over all the GMAT tutors on here.

November 3, 2019
    

In a word, Dan is awesome. He is very professional, easy to work with (even remotely), and knows what's up with the GMAT. I went from a 550 to a 620 to a 710! Dan was a big part of how I learned what I needed to know & increase my score to where I wanted it to be. I took 1 GMAT prep course in person which didn't do much to actually prepare me to ace the test. Dan has a very structured way of going through the different types of tricky questions the GMAT poses & was al

November 3, 2019
    

After some neutral to negative experiences with GMAT tutors in the past, I was a bit skeptical at first, but Dan proved to me from the beginning that he understood the ins and outs of the exam. I struggled for the longest time to get a 700+ score, but Dan managed to help get me there in 10 hours. He comes prepared and makes the material you need to know SO easy to understand. On top of that, he's flexible and easy to work with. 100% recommend Dan.

November 3, 2019
    

Working with Dan was awesome! He is a great coach--always positive, always encouraging. Dan was way easy to work with. I really appreciated that he made the most out of every session; he does a great job balancing time management and optimizing material covered. He was stellar at explaining new concepts/principles and at reviewing tough questions that I had trouble working through. From my experience with Dan, I know that he had my best interest at heart. He genuinely wanted to help me succeed and achieve my goals on the GMAT. I feel like in this niche line of work, a tutor could sit back and just focus on making a buck without giving you their best effort. That is NOT Dan. Dan gets satisfaction from helping individuals grasp the concepts, slay the GMAT, and get the scores necessary to get into their top school choices. I applied to three schools and was able to get the scores necessary to get accepted to all three with--and only with--Dan's help. The only issue I have with working with Dan is that I did not reach out to him sooner!

November 3, 2019
    

I had a great experience with Dan as a tutor! I ended up getting a 760 on the GMAT, which I truly never would have expected coming into the experience. I had very low confidence to start and knew none of the material. Dan had a lesson for each aspect of the test and made sure I knew how to answer every type of question I could expect to see. He walked me through the entire process, providing all my study materials and telling me when to take practice tests. Dan's strategies and approach made the GMAT material feel approachable in a way I never could have imagined it feeling before we started working together. I highly recommend working with Dan to anyone who feels daunted by the prospect of taking this test.

July 16, 2018
    

Dan the GMAT Man is The Man! He has a great approach that not only familiarizes you with the material, but also gets you up to speed (as timing can present a challenge). He provided a lot of practice material. I thank him for a 80-point increase in score.

July 16, 2018
    

Dan was an awesome tutor. We worked together for 3 months at the beginning of 2018. His knowledge and insights of the GMAT helped me improve my score from a 550 to a 680! I would highly recommend Dan for anyone looking to rock the GMAT.

July 16, 2018
    

I don't have enough words to describe what an amazing tutor Dan is. I spent over 7 months studying for the GMAT with Dan. He was consistently professional, had an organized plan of attack for each session, and was always available for follow-up questions. This past week I got into the #1 MBA program in the U.S and my top choice, Chicago Booth. I could not have accomplished this without Dan's guidance and I would HIGHLY recommend him to anyone focused on getting into a top 5 school.

Check out more reviews on my Thumbtack page:

Top Pro badge